FFIM

FFIM is a non-profit organization devoted to promoting and preserving Maine's fisheries
It is currently September 24th, 2017, 2:56 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: May '11 - Dan Daly
PostPosted: May 15th, 2011, 6:39 pm 
Site Admin

I had the pleasure of sharing a cabin with Dan at the WB Conclave a few years back. Dan is a true character, and a generous gentlemen with his works of art that have donned prints and originals in our FFIM auctions, as well as a famous Conclave t-shirt. Thanks, Dan, for your many contributions to FFIM and the fisheries of Maine.

Tell us a little about yourself

I’m 64 years old, married, live in Camden. I’m an artist and have my brokers license to help my wife, who works full time in real estate. No kids. We both got married somewhat later in life. I recognized pretty early that I had a crazy streak mixed in with a bit of wanderlust and realized trying to settle down and raise a family probably wouldn’t work out. We also have a small art and antique business on the side. I grew up in Upstate New York and have lived in Vermont, Idaho, California and Boston. Have traveled [and fished!] extensively in the American West and Europe. I put my own way through college but it took me a few majors, five schools and 17 years! My jobs have included guide, accountant executive, bartender, ranch hand, heavy equipment operator, teacher [college], illustrator.

As an illustrator I did book covers, magazine articles, courtroom sketches for TV, murals in many major cities. I don’t really illustrate much anymore but recently did a small picture for the May issue of Maine Magazine.

As a painter I do landscapes, people, places, and things in many media- oils, watercolors, acrylic, pen and ink, etc. My website, http://www.dalyart.com has many examples. My work is in many collections, public and private, here and in Europe.