FFIM

FFIM is a non-profit organization devoted to promoting and preserving Maine's fisheries
It is currently December 13th, 2018, 9:01 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Copper Ammo
PostPosted: November 24th, 2018, 4:25 pm 
FFIMer

I have been using firearms for over 50 years and had not heard of full copper ammo (not FMJ) until I read the information. I believe that the steel shot regs were killed (sorry abou the pun) by Trump et al, but have no idea of the ballastics for copper ammo. Just an FYI article which I found interesting.

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/11/24/us/a ... ndors.html

Post subject: Re: Copper Ammo
PostPosted: November 24th, 2018, 6:05 pm 
FFIMer

I have not used solid copper bullets yet, I have used other lead free ammunition, but I've read a lot about solid copper. They have actually been around for a long time, and ballisticly identical to standard FMJ or any other bullet. The major difference is a solid copper bullet will penetrate further, and will tend to retain more weight as it stays together better. The only way a solid copper bullet will expand is if it is a hollow point.

I would support a ban on lead in hunting ammunition, the major hump I see is cost, solid copper (and other lead free ammo) is usually twice as expensive, if not more.

Peter

PostPosted: November 24th, 2018, 7:14 pm 
FFIM-aholic

Naive non hunter checking in... I guess I am surprised by the impact to scavengers... I guess I thought people carried the whole carcus out... I didn’t know they butchered in the field and left the whole thing there to be picked over.

"Fishermen...spending their lives in the fields and woods...are often in a more favorable mood for observing her, in the intervals of their pursuits, than philosophers or poets even, who approach her with expectation." - Thoreau

PostPosted: November 24th, 2018, 7:45 pm 
FFIMer