FFIM

FFIM is a non-profit organization devoted to promoting and preserving Maine's fisheries
It is currently December 13th, 2018, 8:58 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2018, 3:55 pm 
FFIMer

A neighbor of mine happened across a Phillipson Pacemaker "51". It is the dry fly special bamboo 3 piece. I think he has a spare tip, but it is 6" shorter than the other tip. He has the sash and tube, although he is missing the cap to the tube. The sash and tube appear to be original. Condition of the rod looks pretty good to me, but hey, what do I know, I am a graphite guy! He is curious about the history and value. We were able to do some searching on the web. Curious to know the FFIM perspective on the rod.

Enjoy the photos. Thanks, ZG <*(((-<

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2018, 5:44 pm 
FFIMer

Hi . I'm no expert but here is what I know about your Phillipson rod. With cane, usually the shorter the better. For fishibility, 8' and under in length is a little more desirable. Shorter rod means less weight. Lighter weight makes for a more pleasant day casting. At 8.5 feet you are a little long. You have a short tip. No doubt broken and repaired sometime in its life. Phillipison is a nice cane rod but not one of the "Big Boys". It was factory made and put out in pretty good numbers. Many rods sporting the "Beans LL" marking were Phillipson cane rods. It is nothing serious but it would be better if your rod tube had it's end cap. The good news is the finish looks pretty good. The wraps look pretty good. A "HDH" rod indicated it is about a 6 weight. That's nice for fishability. I think "Pacemaker" was a mid range quality rod for Phillipson. You do have the original tube and bag and if you watch on ebay you can probably find a replacement end cap. It's tough to say without having the rod in my hand but I would say it has a value of around $200.- $250. if it has no structural surprises. Find a reel that balances it, load it with a 6 wt and go fishing