FFIM

FFIM is a non-profit organization devoted to promoting and preserving Maine's fisheries
It is currently November 21st, 2018, 9:58 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Fall Flies
PostPosted: August 27th, 2018, 10:03 am 
FFIMer

Hi everyone, I am a college student at UMF who recently got into fly fishing. I was wondering what flies people had success with in smaller trout ponds in the fall. I hear people do well with black buggers as leaches and some bright colored streamers, letting them sink from a canoe and retrieving very slowly. I know a little bit about dry flies and nymphing in the spring, but if anyone has any fall advice that would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

Post subject: Re: Fall Flies
PostPosted: August 27th, 2018, 5:45 pm 
FFIM Addict

I don’t pond fish often, but have had very good luck on partridge and orange soft hackle wets in the fall. Others like dunked orange hoppers. Good luck!

PostPosted: August 27th, 2018, 5:58 pm 
FFIM-aholic

White marabou streamers with a little orange or red in them... fish them deep.

I am also more help in Rivers, where red Bradford, Black stone flies, and small olive nymphs are my “go tos”.

"Fishermen...spending their lives in the fields and woods...are often in a more favorable mood for observing her, in the intervals of their pursuits, than philosophers or poets even, who approach her with expectation." - Thoreau

PostPosted: August 27th, 2018, 7:12 pm 

Orange muddlers, wet and dry. Ants. Larger bead head hare's ear nymphs.

PostPosted: August 27th, 2018, 7:30 pm 
FFIM Addict

"Larger bead head hare's ear nymphs."
Jeff,
Is that hare's ear nymphs with larger beads or overall larger bead head hare's ear nymphs.

Ron

Sir John Buchan

PostPosted: August 27th, 2018, 8:09 pm 
FFIMer

jrouss22 wrote: